Before Midnight

Before Midnight by Rex Stout

Purchased 106 times

See more Detective



DOWNLOAD E-BOOK

When Nero Wolfe comes up against murder in the advertising business it isn`t surprising that the world`s largest detective (one-seventh of a ton of orchid-loving, beer-drinking genius) should find himself involved with one of the world`s largest advertising agencies. The agency is conducting the biggest prize contest ever, with prizes totaling one million dollars. Just one man knows the solutions in the million-dollar contest, and it`s his disappearance that introduces Nero and Archie to the world of four-color spreads and TV spectaculars. It introduces them also to a murderer who has the audacity to kill in Nero`s office and before Nero`s very eyes. After Rex Stout unfolds this novel, it is possible that the advertising world will never be the same - and this may be a public service.

0 pages, published in
Rex Stout

A book by Rex Stout

Rex Todhunter Stout ( Rex Todhunter Stout , 1886-1975) - American writer, author of detective novels, creator of the cycle of novels about Nero Wolfe . [h1] Biography [/ h1] Rex Stout was born on December 1, 1886 in Noblesville, Indiana, but soon his parents, John Wallace Stout and Lucetta Elizabeth Todhunter Stout, moved to Kansas. At four, Stout read the entire Bible twice, and at thirteen he became the state`s spelling champion. From 1906 to 1908, Stout served on the official yacht of US President Theodore Roosevelt, performing the duties of an accountant. Around 1916, Stout invented the school banking system, adopted by over 400 American schools. The royalties for the invention allowed Stout to leave for Europe and subsequently devote himself to writing.

Stout`s literary career began in the 1910s. In 1929, his first book was published, "Like a God" ( How Like a God , in some translations - "Kill Evil"), a psychological novel written in the second person. The first book about Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin was the novel "The Edge of the Spear" ( Fer-de-Lance , 1934). For forty years, Stout has published more than sixty novels and collections of short stories. Stout was one of many American writers closely watched by the FBI, led by Edgar Hoover. This almighty organization was especially angry with him after the publication in 1965 of the novel "The Doorbell", in which the author openly showed how the FBI violates the laws of his country and ridiculed its employees. Even in 1988, 13 years after Stout`s death, the FBI, despite the freedom of information law, disclosed to reporters only 183 of the 301 pages of Rex Stout`s dossier, and even those were censored. Rex Stout died in 1975 at the age of 88. Fans of Nero Wolfe and Rex Stout and detectives in general - welcome to the thematic site http://nerowolfe.info A complete bibliography of books about Nero Wolfe, a detailed biography of the author, character descriptions, a story about all the screen versions of the works of Rex Stout. There are many little-known details, most of the materials are for the first time in Russian. There is a photo gallery on the topic, a forum.

Before Midnight PDF

Rex Todhunter Stout ( Rex Todhunter Stout , 1886-1975) - American writer, author of detective novels, creator of the cycle of novels about Nero Wolfe . [h1] Biography [/ h1] Rex Stout was born on December 1, 1886 in Noblesville, Indiana, but soon his parents, John Wallace Stout and Lucetta Elizabeth Todhunter Stout, moved to Kansas. At four, Stout read the entire Bible twice, and at thirteen he became the state`s spelling champion. From 1906 to 1908, Stout served on the official yacht of US President Theodore Roosevelt, performing the duties of an accountant. Around 1916, Stout invented the school banking system, adopted by over 400 American schools. The royalties for the invention allowed Stout to leave for Europe and subsequently devote himself to writing. Stout`s literary career began in the 1910s. In 1929, his first book was published, "Like a God" ( How Like a God , in some translations - "Kill Evil"), a psychological novel written in the second person. The first book about Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin was the novel "The Edge of the Spear" ( Fer-de-Lance , 1934). For forty years, Stout has published more than sixty novels and collections of short stories. Stout was one of many American writers closely watched by the FBI, led by Edgar Hoover. This almighty organization was especially angry with him after the publication in 1965 of the novel "The Doorbell", in which the author openly showed how the FBI violates the laws of his country and ridiculed its employees. Even in 1988, 13 years after Stout`s death, the FBI, despite the freedom of information law, disclosed to reporters only 183 of the 301 pages of Rex Stout`s dossier, and even those were censored. Rex Stout died in 1975 at the age of 88. Fans of Nero Wolfe and Rex Stout and detectives in general - welcome to the thematic site http://nerowolfe.info A complete bibliography of books about Nero Wolfe, a detailed biography of the author, character descriptions, a story about all the screen versions of the works of Rex Stout. There are many little-known details, most of the materials are for the first time in Russian. There is a photo gallery on the topic, a forum.