Mockingjay Book

Mockingjay by 14581

Purchased 21 times

See more Contemporary Prose books


Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

0 pages, published in

A book by 14581

Susan Collins Susan Collins is a writer and scriptwriter for children`s animated films. Her books about the adventures of the boy Gregor in the Underland Chronicles series are aimed at children. The idea of ​​"Chronicles of the Underdark" came from her impression of "Alice in Wonderland" by Lewis Carroll, which, in Collins` opinion, may seem too "pastoral" to a modern city child. "The Chronicles" is an attempt to tell a fairy tale story in plain language to children who have little idea of ​​what a rabbit hole into which Alice fell should look like. Viktor Golyshev, translator of "Chronicle", president of the Moscow Guild of Translators, told in an interview with RIA Novosti : "These are completely original and at the same time realistic stories, although they talk about fictional creatures.

In" Chronicles ", unlike the series of books about Harry Potter or" Dark Principles "by Philip Pullman, there are no miracles, except strange animals ", - said Golyshev and added that" Chronicles of the Underdark "he would compare with the book" Mowgli "by Kipling. Collins has written six books in the "Chronicles of the Underdark" series. Three of them - "Gregor the Overworld", "Gregor and the Prophecy of Tours" and the third book, which will probably be titled "Gregor and the Curse of the Warmblooded", will soon hit the shelves. The action of all three books takes place in the underworld, where the main character of the Chronicle, a ten-year-old boy Gregor, once and for all gets there. Pale people with purple eyes live there, who have gone underground in ancient times and are in a state of protracted war with giant rats. In addition, the Underdark contains huge spiders, mountable cockroaches, and bats that can be propelled through the air. Some of the animals, for example, the rebel bat and the cockroach, like a dog, loyal to their owner-girl, according to Golyshev, have remarkably written characters. As for the main character, then, as the translator assures, his image is quite complex and contradictory. "Gregor is a real humanist and not a hero at all - he does not even like to fight, but at the same time he is forced to act as a superman, since the future of the entire underground civilization depends on him every time," Golyshev notes. The life of the book underground is determined by prophecy. In each of the books one of them is carried out. The first tells of an expedition of eight living beings organized to rescue Father Gregor. The second describes the fulfillment of the prophecy about the future king of the rats. The third book tells about the plague in the underworld, from which both rats and people suffer, who for a while concluded a kind of truce to equip a campaign for healing plants. "These books lack the moralizing and the gloomy philosophy that the books of Philip Pullman are endowed with," says Golyshev, who translated, in particular, Pullman`s Dark Principles trilogy.

"Everything is much simpler here: animals must be respected." Susan Collins` novel Hunger Games was a huge success. The book was published in the USA in 2008, and its Russian translation (publishing house AST) was released shortly before the New 2010 year. The novel topped the bestseller list and won numerous awards. A novel that is read to the whole world, causing a storm of positive emotions in many languages ​​into which it is translated. It is known that studio Lionsgate announced the acquisition of the rights to film adaptation of the futuristic bestseller Susan Collins. The project will be produced by Nina Yakobson and her company Color Force. The production will be overseen by Lionsgate CEOs Ellie Shermur and Jim Miller. Collins herself adapts the first book of the trilogy for the script for the film. The author`s second novel, Catching Fire, was released on September 1, 2009. Susan Collins now lives in Connecticut with her family and a couple of wild kittens that were picked up in the backyard of the house.  Writer`s site .  Bibliography Series Underland Chronicles 2003 - 1.

Gregor the Overlander - Gregor Overhead 2004 - 2.

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane - Gregor and the Prophecy of Tours 2005 - 3.

Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods - Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods 2006 - 4.

Gregor and the Marks of Secret (aka Gregor and the Rats of Underland) 2007 - 5.

Gregor and the Code of Claw 2002 - Gregor the Overlander Box Set (omnibus) Hunger Games - Hunger Games 2008 - 1.

The Hunger Games - The Hunger Games 2009 - 2.

Catching Fire - Born Fire (Ignite) 2010 - 3.

TBA Picture Books 2005 - When Charlie McButton Lost Power Series contributed to Mystery Files of Shelby Woo 1999 - 11.

Fire Proof

TOP picks for 14581 fans: