The Cat Who Talked Turkey Book

The Cat Who Talked Turkey by Lillian Jackson Brown

Purchased 16 times

See more Detective books


The good people of Moose County are in a fever of excitement. It`s almost time for the gala groundbreaking of the Pickax bookstore - and the town of Brrr is preparing for its bicentennial celebration. All the festivities, however; are spoiled by the discovery of a man`s body on James Qwilleran`s property. Could it be the work of a killer who used the same MO in northern Michigan? To solve the case, Qwill and his feline pals, Koko and Yum Yum, will have to prick up their ears and determine who committed this fowl deed.

121 pages, published in
Lillian Jackson Brown

A book by Lillian Jackson Brown

Lilian Jackson Braun June 20, 1913 - June 4, 2011 American journalist and writer working in the genre of "cozy" detectives. Born June 20, 1913. Lillian Brown considers the beginning of her literary career to write poetry in honor of her mother at the age of two. According to the original methodology of the mother, Lillian developed her writing skills - her daughter had to describe everything that happened to her at school every day. Lillian Brown is a baseball fan who began doing reviews for various sports magazines at the age of 16. Later she worked in many areas of journalism - advertising, art, led weekly columns on poetry and cooking, more than 30 years was the editor of "Detroit Free Press". The impetus for writing the first book was a tragic accident: her cat falls out of the 12th floor of Lillian Brown`s apartment, and Lillian suspects her neighbor that he contributed to this flight. This is how the plot of the story "Madame Floy`s Revenge" is born. Initially, Lillian makes her protagonist a journalist, but friends point out to her some autobiography as an undesirable element for detective storytelling. The main character of her books is crime reporter Jim Qwilleran, in whose guise the features of the writer`s friends and acquaintances are embodied. Jim Qwilleran is a middle-aged and conservative man, overweight, with a small belly and mustache, which he fiddles with whenever possible, a bachelor and a big cat lover. His Siamese cats - Koko the cat named after the famous Chinese artist Gao Kegong and the Yum-Yum cat - intervene in the investigation of crimes. Most of the books are set in a small provincial town in Michigan, similar to the one in which the writer herself, her husband and their two Siamese cats lived until the mid-80s. The first book, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, was published in 1966. After the release of two more "Cat who ..." from the famous series of the writer, she suspends her literary activity due to disagreements with her publishers. Lillian worked in the "cozy" detective style, and the publishers demanded more blood and violence. "The world is tired of blood," she said, and stopped working with the publishing house. Her next book came out only in 1986. According to Lillian Brown, "Not all detective fans love cats, but most cat lovers love detective stories," perhaps this explains the phenomenal success of these unusual books. A series about "Cat, which..." exceeded 30 volumes and sold in millions of copies. All books contain a dedication to "Earl Bettinger, the husband who ..." In fact, not much is known about Brown, as she prefers not to advertise her personal life. For many years, publishers did not reveal her year of birth until Lillian Brown herself revealed the exact date in an interview with Detroit News in January 2005. It is known from the interview that Lillian Brown continues to type books on a typewriter, and currently lives with her family in North Carolina. On the Internet there are a lot of fan-clubs of the writer.

TOP picks for Lillian Jackson Brown fans: