Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight by Lily brooks-dalton

Purchased 15 times

See more Lily brooks-dalton



DOWNLOAD E-BOOK

For readers of Station Eleven and The Martian, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.

Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts—from Chile to Hawaii to Australia—studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone.

At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success, but when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crew mates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home.

As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives?

186 pages, published in
Lily brooks-dalton

A book by Lily brooks-dalton

LILY BROOKS-DALTON was born and raised in southern Vermont. Her memoir, Motorcycles I`ve Loved , was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award and her first novel, Good Morning, Midnight , will be translated into half a dozen languages. https://www.instagram.com/lilybrooksdalton http://www.lilybrooksdalton.com...

Good Morning, Midnight PDF

LILY BROOKS-DALTON was born and raised in southern Vermont. Her memoir, Motorcycles I`ve Loved , was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award and her first novel, Good Morning, Midnight , will be translated into half a dozen languages. https://www.instagram.com/lilybrooksdalton http://www.lilybrooksdalton.com