The Girl Who Saved Christmas

The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig

Purchased 29 times

See more For Children



DOWNLOAD E-BOOK

From the best-selling author of A Boy Called Christmas comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens` A Christmas Carol that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present. Amelia Wishart was the first child ever to receive a Christmas present. It was her Christmas spirit that gave Santa the extra boost of magic he needed to make his first trip around the world. But now Amelia is in trouble. When her mother falls ill, she is sent to the workhouse to toil under cruel Mr. Creeper. For a whole year, Amelia scrubs the floors and eats watery gruel without a whiff of kindness to keep her going. It`s not long before her hope begins to drain away. Meanwhile, up at the North Pole, magic levels dip dangerously low as Christmas approaches, and Santa knows that something is gravely wrong. With the help of his trusty reindeer, a curious cat, and Charles Dickens, he sets out to find Amelia, the only girl who might be able to save Christmas. But first, Amelia must learn to believe again....

0 pages, published in
Matt Haig

A book by Matt Haig

Matt Haig was born in 1975 in Sheffield (UK), but the future writer spent his childhood in Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire (currently residing in York). Matt was educated at the Universities of Hull and Leeds. During his life, he managed to change several professions. For example, he ran his own internet marketing company, worked in a nightclub in Spain, and then became a professional writer. Haig has and continues to work with publications such as The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Independent, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Face. Haig`s first book was published in 2005. Previously, the writer`s work was closely associated with the classic works of William Shakespeare. For example, the debut novel, "The Last Family in England" ("The Labrador Pact") plays up the events of the first act of "Henry IV", but all the characters in the story are dogs. The book became a bestseller in the UK: "I was honored to hear from my favorite writer, Janet Winterson, that The Last Family i...

The Girl Who Saved Christmas PDF

Matt Haig was born in 1975 in Sheffield (UK), but the future writer spent his childhood in Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire (currently residing in York). Matt was educated at the Universities of Hull and Leeds. During his life, he managed to change several professions. For example, he ran his own internet marketing company, worked in a nightclub in Spain, and then became a professional writer. Haig has and continues to work with publications such as The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Independent, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Face. Haig`s first book was published in 2005. Previously, the writer`s work was closely associated with the classic works of William Shakespeare. For example, the debut novel, "The Last Family in England" ("The Labrador Pact") plays up the events of the first act of "Henry IV", but all the characters in the story are dogs. The book became a bestseller in the UK: "I was honored to hear from my favorite writer, Janet Winterson, that The Last Family in England is one of the great books about animals." The film rights to the novel were purchased by Brad Pitt`s studio Plan B Entertainment, but the film adaptation has not yet been released. Haig`s second and fourth novels, Dead Fathers Club and The Possession of Mr Cave, are the darkest he has ever written. "Dead Fathers Club" is based on the plot of the tragedy "Hamlet". At the center of the narrative is the story of an eleven-year-old boy forced to live with the recent death of his father and the subsequent appearance of his ghost. However, the author himself jokes that these of his books are only 3% of Shakespeare`s rehash, and Matt borrowed the remaining 97% from Return of the Jedi. Haig has also written many books for children and teenagers. The first of them was the "Samuel Blink" dilogy about a little boy Samuel who, in order to save his sister`s life, is forced to climb into the thicket of the deadliest forest in the world. The story involves one-eyed trolls, evil pixies, witches, as well as people turning into rabbits. The book won numerous British literary awards and was even nominated for a Carnegie Medal. After finishing work on the cycle, Haig was again able to surprise the audience with the novel "The Radley Family". This time the author spoke about the everyday life of a vampire family living in a British town. Very soon after the release, the planned film adaptation of the work was also announced, and Alfonso Cuarona was called the planned director of the project, but even then the statement did not go further. However, this does not prevent Matt Hague from continuing to create: novels of various genres, stories and poems are published from under his pen, which are certainly marked by positive reviews from both critics and readers.