Brian Wilson Aldiss Books

Brian Wilson Aldiss ( Brian Wilson Aldiss ) was born on 18 August 1925 in East Deram, Norfolk, UK, died on 19 August 2017 in Oxford, Oxfordshire, UK – English writer , one of the leading contemporary authors of SF UK. His many writings include critical studies, essays, short stories, and highly acclaimed mainstream novels, but his main focus is on science fiction. Unlike many of his colleagues, Aldiss approaches science fiction from a humanitarian standpoint, focusing on characters and themes rather than technical advances, showing a rare autonomy in this area and preferring risky creative experiments to well-worn recipes. He has received many honorary awards and is considered a world-class master of science fiction. Born August 18, 1925 in East Durham (Norfolk County, England), he attended private schools without much pleasure. During the Second World War, he served in the signal troops in Burma and Indonesia (in Sumatra). Army impressions later served as the basis for the trilogy Horatio Stubbs (1970). In 1948 he demobilized and got a job as a salesman in a bookstore in Oxford. Fictionalized essays on the bookselling, published in the trade magazine Bookseller , later formed the basis of his first novel Brightfount Diaries (1955). By the late 1950s, like a bright meteor, scattering verbal glitter, Aldiss burst into the world of science fiction. This is evidenced by the collection of stories Space, Time and Nathaniel (1957) his first science fiction novel “Without stopping” Non-Stop (1958), published in the United States under the title “ Starship Starship , and subsequent storybooks The Canopy of Time (1959) and No Time Like Tomorrow (1959). In 1962, Aldiss publishes the novel “Greenhouse” Hothouse , which was named in the USA “The Long Twilight of the Earth” The Long Afternoon of Earth The atmosphere of gloomy beauty and disturbing poetry of the world, which failed to conquer the Universe, reminds the first novel of the writer. For this book, Aldiss was awarded the Hugo Prize in 1962, and remains a classic version of the possible distant future of our planet. In the second half of the 1960s, Aldiss became one of the leaders of the English “new wave” – ​​a literary movement associated with the New Worlds magazine, which aimed at a literary experiment within the genre of science fiction. Provoking controversy and discussion, Aldiss publishes more and more innovative prose – the novel “The Saliva Tree” The Saliva Tree (1966), which won the Nebula prize, and the novel “Report on Probability A” Report on Probability A (1968), where the techniques of the French “anti-novel” are introduced into a surrealist-mysterious narrative. This was followed by the book Barefoot in the Head: A European Fantasia (1969), which depicts the aftermath of the war in Europe, where psychedelic drugs became a weapon. This narrative, the style of which is determined by a play on words that brings to mind James Joyce`s Finnegans Wake, has been hailed as an extravagant masterpiece by the author. According to science fiction critics, the best novels of the 1970s include The Malaysian Tapestry The Malacia Tapestry (1976) by Oldissa – this lyric-tinged fantasy with a scientific background is considered by some readers and critics to be the best the work of Oldiss. In 1980, Aldiss published Moreau`s Other Island , which is a rework of Dr. Moreau`s Island by HG Wells. But his most significant SF work is the highly acclaimed trilogy of Helliconia. The action of the novels included in it “Spring of Helliconia” Helliconia Spring (1982), “Summer of Helliconia” Helliconia Summer (1983) and “Winter of Helliconia” Helliconia Winter (1985) takes place on a planet located in a binary star system. The year of Hellikonia is 2592 earthly, and the seasons last for centuries in earthly terms. Extreme climatic conditions determine the rise and fall of civilizations, biology and relationships of the planet`s inhabitants, including human beings and phagoras – representatives of the non-humanoid race. This is the author`s most ambitious attempt to convince everyone that science fiction is serious literature. After the trilogy, the novels The Year Before Yesterday (1987), Ruins (1987), Forgotten Life (1989), Dracula Unbound (1991), Remembrance Day (1993), Somewhere East of Life (1994). A tireless anthology writer and science fiction researcher, Aldiss has written a number of books on the genre. Notable among these is the Billion Year Spree (1973), an extensive and inspirational historical survey of science fiction. Together with David Wingrove, Aldiss made a new version of the book entitled Trillion Year Spree (1986). Aldiss began the 1990s with his autobiography Bury My Heart at WHSmith`s: A Writing Life (1990), which tells not so much about Brian Oldis as about what it means to him to write. 1999 saw the publication of the novel White Mars Or, The Mind Set Free , written in collaboration with mathematician Roger Penrose, on the future exploration of Mars. In the 2000s, the author`s novels such as “Superpower” Super-State (2002), “Oxford Passions” Affairs At Hampden Ferrers (2004), HARM (2007). To date, about forty novels and more than thirty collections of stories have come out from the pen of Oldiss. In 1960, Aldiss was elected President of the British Science Fiction Association, in 1968 he was recognized as the best science fiction writer in the UK, and in 1970 – the most popular science fiction author in the world. In 2000, Aldiss was elected Grand Master by an organization of American science fiction writers. In 2005, Queen Elizabeth II conferred the title of Officer of the British Empire on the writer for “service to literature.” Passed away peacefully at his home in Oxford on his 92nd birthday.  Aliases: Jael Cracken Peter Pica John Runciman Dr. Peristyle K.K. Shackleton CC Shackleton Page on Fantlab Wiki



The Dark Light Years

Helliconia Spring




Life in the West

Hothouse, aka The Long Afternoon of Earth

Helliconia Winter


Helliconia Summer